Recent Topics

1 Feb 18, 2008 04:13    

My b2evolution Version: 2.4.0

I am new to using PHP/CSS and have been playing around with customizing skins. I am not sure if there is something I am missing or over looking but lets say we are looking at the custom skin. How do I change the background color on the customer skin? I have been able to change just about everything else. I am not sure if I am missing something or if there is something I need to play with in some of the other CSS files... Any help is greatly appreciated.

On a side note should I be trying to play with version 2 of the software or go back to version 1? The reason I am asking is because there seems to be more tutorials for a novice like me...

Anyways thanks in advance for any help on my silly questions.

2 Feb 18, 2008 05:02

I'm pretty sure the background on that skin is an image file, so changing colors won't work too easily.

Better to work with 240-RC2 because it's pretty damned stable and radically different internally than the entire 1.* generation. You will get all the help you could imagine here in the forums, and eventually all the documentation will catch up. If you do all your customization in 1.* you'll have to one day migrate the whole package, effectively doubling your work.

Hey a link to your blog is a good idea. I mean, I can try to go by memory of all the different bits, or just click your link and see *exactly* what's happening in your neck of the interwoods.

3 Feb 18, 2008 08:15

Awesome thank you very much. I cannot believe I was overlooking that (img files are the background). Let me play with this a bit and I will be back tomorrow with my link because I have a feeling I will definately have more questions...

I will stick with 240-RC2 like you said. That definately makes more sense.

4 Feb 21, 2008 12:25

To change the background of my skin I went to ../blogs/skins/SKIN_YOU_ARE_USING/image/ and located the name of the background image file.