Recent Topics

1 Apr 10, 2008 23:34    

My b2evolution Version: Latest version as of 4/10/2008

Hey guys, I'm new to using b2evolution, and so far it looks pretty great. However, I'm having trouble getting pretty urls to work, like date urls (root/10/20/2008/post) and category permalinks (root/category/post). Basically, the admin control panel gives me the correctly formatted url as a link, but going there results in a 404.

I think the problem stems from my using a "relative to baseurl" path for the base of the blog. I have a stub index.php in that relative directory (so I can simply link a directory as the main page of the blog) which I had to modify slightly in order to get it working.
I changed this line

require_once dirname(__FILE__).'/conf/_config.php';

to this line.

require_once dirname(__FILE__).'/../conf/_config.php';

That seemed to work just fine for the main pages, but, as I've stated, links to individual posts don't work. I've also tried renaming and uncommenting that default .htaccess that comes with b2evolution, but it didn't seem to do any good. Any ideas?

Thanks

4 Apr 11, 2008 03:54

Sorry, I'm just testing things out right now on my local machine, I haven't set anything up online yet. I haven't decided on a host yet, but I'm currently testing with the latest apache and php version (and I assume I'll be using apache wherever I decide to host anyway). Is there any other information I can give you?

Thanks

5 Apr 11, 2008 17:19

Can you give me your exact Apache version?

Otherwise, I would suggest you try renaming sample.htaccess to .htaccess and check the settings therein. To me it looks like your apache doesn't have the setting that allows it to process extra path info by default.

I don't know the magic setting from the top of my head since it generally works by default (and it certainly does with all the hosts we have tested in the [url=http://b2evolution.net/web-hosting/]Hosting section[/url]).

6 Apr 12, 2008 10:07