Recent Topics

1 Sep 25, 2012 03:42    

b2 lacks extensions, especially template (skins) which the whole userbase needs (novice bloggers to advanced users).

To make templating easier and yet more advanced we need something like a framework i think.
I have started to build my own, but:
1- i have limited php knowledge, dont have much b2 core knowledge + the docs and manual mostly sucks to get help where stuck.
2- also dont have much time to develop it alone, neither does anyone else in the forums.

I am recommending porting one called "gantry", check it out here:
http://www.gantry-framework.org/

Not only it is the best, in my experiences but ita also has a wp version, which i think may make it easier to port over to b2.
If we are up to it, i promise to chip in more than i ever did.

2 Nov 20, 2012 02:06

Are there several designs available once you use this framework?

Or would it be like a "Gantry skin" (with lots of config options)

3 Nov 20, 2012 02:14

fplanque wrote:

Are there several designs available once you use this framework?

Or would it be like a "Gantry skin" (with lots of config options)

nope, unfortunately.As far as i know it only has a skeleton skin to see grids and div's but no child templates.

However there are plenty of templates using this framework (for both joomla & wordpress) to see what might be done with it.

We would ideally, have lots of options and a nice admin in back office.
It mainly utilizes jquery & less which is good for b2 i think.The development is pretty active since 'rockettheme' uses it to develop club templates to sell.

But i promise to develop several templates (at least one or two a month) for b2evolution if we can have a framework like this.
And i think i've improved and they would be far more better compared to my earlier skins in 2.x series, now when i look back they really suck.