Recent Topics

1 Apr 02, 2005 22:28    

One question:
I plan using a lot of categories, but - as far as I've seen - the menu ist rather static... Is there a way to generate a list like on the b2evolution main page, where the categories can get extended by clicking on the + ? (I also would need this fuctionality for the sub and maybe even sub-sub categories...

Thank You in advance...

2 Apr 09, 2005 06:02

Tiberius,

Kinda like [url=http://chunnering.net/]THIS?[/url] :D

I think the answer is yes, but I'm no pro. I just ran across the site when I was trying to help ShelaghG. Maybe you can figure out what he's done and or contact him for some help. Here's the [url=http://forums.b2evolution.net/viewtopic.php?t=3679&highlight=sunflower]POST[/url]

I do know that there are some list techniques that employ CSS ([url=http://css.maxdesign.com.au/listamatic2/]Listmatic[/url] is a good place to start) but I would think that javaScripting would be a more common approach.

This might get you in contact with someone that can help.

-Scott

3 Jul 12, 2005 09:29

It's pretty easy using just JavaScript. I ran across a pretty awesome tutorial for this while building another site of mine. Here's the important stuff.

This is the JavaScript that will expand and contract the list. If you don't like "javascript:switchit('linktitle')" showing up in your status bar, you can experiment with adding some code to change what the status bar says. Unfortunately, I don't have tips for that.

function switchit(list){
var listElementStyle=document.getElementById(list).style;
if (listElementStyle.display=="none"){
listElementStyle.display="block";
} else {
listElementStyle.display="none";
}
}

Since my list is generated dynamically, each list (which was in another list itself) looks like this.

<li><a href="javascript:switchit('[u]objectID[/u]')" title="any Title"><b>any Title</b></a>
<ul id="[u]objectID[/u]">
<li><a href="link1">like title1</a></li>
<li><a href="link2">linke title2</a></li>