Recent Topics

1 Jan 12, 2006 22:37    

hello,

I really like the skins found on sites such as www.brendoman.com (it's a b2evo blog for sure) and shinyshiny.tv (not sure what blogging system that site has). How can i convert one of the existing skins into 3 columns without breaking it? I have some very basic editing skills but I'm not sure the way to approach this. Or if someone could make something a lot like one of the 2 above that would be spiffy :)

thanks much!
godinu

2 Jan 12, 2006 22:40

I'm an admin at brendoman.com. I can just give you the code for the skin if you want. I also have a three column version of the Plain skin, too. It's possible to convert a skin from two to three columns. Depending on how the 2-column skin is put together, it can take more or less trial and error to get it converted. You would just need to read up on CSS, then start experimenting.

3 Jan 13, 2006 03:13

personman, i would LOVE to have the code for that skin, as long as it's ok with the site owner. I would change it to my own colorschemes and tweak it a bit once i got things up and running
I really like b2evolution but am as new to this as i am to CSS. So far so good though :)

thanks much.

4 Jan 13, 2006 03:19

http://brendoman.com/b2e/skins/brendoskin.zip

It would be cool if you include a link back to brendoman.com somewhere on your site, but it's not mandatory. I'll be the first to tell you that this code isn't exactly clean, but I hope you can get some good out of it.

5 Jan 13, 2006 04:27

thanks much personman. (personman as in TMBG's personman? :))

I'll put up a linkback once I play around with the skin a little bit; it's the least i could do. 3-column blogs seem ideal since there's plenty of room for ads and linkage that way. I like the flow better this way as well.

thanks again!

6 Jan 13, 2006 18:52