Recent Topics

1 Jul 29, 2006 05:27    

Hi, Ive been using b2evo for a few months now and absolutely love it. Unfortunately I was forced to reinstall the OS onto the machine I normally accessed the blog back end from, and neglected to realise that I'd become reliant on fire fox's password remembering feature. Furthermore I musn't have put in an email address for the password reset.

Alas I'm now locked out of my own blog. Yeah, stupid, I know. Is there any way to retrieve the password from the sql db (which is located on a server in my room, to which I have full access), or is only a hash of it stored there? (or indeed, where is it stored, if not in the db?)

Is there a backup and restore script that I may run external to the blog software, which with a little modification, may allow me to reset the pw?

I realise this request for help sounds highly suspect, but I think the only solutions are possible to somone with physical access to the server, which in my case, shows my innocence :)

May I please have your opinions? Any help or pointers would be greatly appreciated, Thankyou.

If all else fails, a considerable amount of ctrl-c ctrl-v awaits :)

EDIT: I am running MySQL 4.1 and b2evolution-0.9.1b-2005-09-16

EDIT: Did a little more searching and came across potential solution-ness

http://forums.b2evolution.net/viewtopic.php?t=6759&highlight=forgot+password

http://forums.b2evolution.net/viewtopic.php?t=3790&highlight=forgot+password

2 Jul 29, 2006 05:58

What user name did you login with? Generally speaking User #1 is 'admin', and as far as I know admin has to have an email ID. I think all users have to have one. Anyway have you tried the "lost password" feature using 'admin' or whatever you know your username to be? BTW if you give it a completely bogus username it'll say the same thing as if you told it a real username, so the message "your password has been mailed to you" is what everyone who tinkers will see.