Recent Topics

1 Aug 23, 2006 15:54    

I am new to B2 and to setting up blogs, and don't know php, etc... It may be that folks don't like engaging with the uninitiated in such things, but here's hoping... I have been moderating a local email list for over four years, with 1200 addresses presently on it, and want to set up a discussion/forum for folks to engage each other directly, using several blog sections and sub-catagories....

I've been exploring B2, a bit at a time, for a couple weeks, slowly learning, and it really seems the very best of all possible choices, including that it is free and I'm not getting paid to do the list or any of this... I do it as a community service.

I just updated to 1.8.1... Same problem was in 1.8... The fellow who is giving me free server space has shown me some things, including how to up load and update, using an ftp client, etc... but he doesn't know B2 and not a lot of php, at least not like folks here seem to know it...

No matter how I check the choices in Blog Settings the catagories are only appearing in the sidebar in the "all messages" blog. The other blogs don't show catagories there, with "display public blog list" and "include in public blog list" checked in all of them... Four standard blogs and the link blog refuse to include catagories, but the all messages blog does... I've been back and forth until I'm crosseyed trying to see a difference, and have checked and unchecked in every combination, collectively and individually, that I can think of in the Settings, but the problem remains, with every skin having the same problem. I have also noticed in the process that the bluesky and the guadelupe skins don't turn off skin choices even when I turn skin choices off in the settings...