Recent Topics

1 Sep 19, 2006 05:30    

I hope I can be excused if my question sounds ridiculous but seriously, I am totally new to websites. I have no knowledge of html, css, php, blogs and everything.

Anyway, I had my website done on Microsoft Frontpage with shared borders, etc. I have added in phplist which is a mailing list fro my newsletter and I thank the guys from their forums who were very kind and helpful in guiding me on having the phplist customised into my website.
http://www.thaivisitor.org

Now I want to add in a blog and after reading generally about the different blogs which are Word Press, Nucleus, pMachine Free and b2evolution, I would like to install b2evolution. But before I do that, I need to ask a few questions which I hope I can get the answers from here.

I would like to have a blog which I am the only person who "writes" so I don't need multiple blogs, etc. My readers, can of course put in their comments which I think the function is already there. I do not need any readers to register so the blog is "open" to all to see and comment, unless someone here advises me otherwise.

Now, I think the "default" design suits me fine. But I like to know whether it is possible, or easy to have my own header and footer which is my shared borders of my website. If you take a look at my website, the header ends just after the 5 images (one with Tiger Beer).

Also, the blog will replace my homepage so on my right panel, is it easy to insert my Flash images and my newsletter subscription form? I can resize it to fit the left panel of the blog page if necessary.

I hope I can get some help here for my newbie questions.

Thanking you guys in advance.

Cheers
Tee Vee

2 Sep 19, 2006 17:16

You might be surprised how nice it is for a single author to have multiple blogs. For example your links can (and should) be their own blog - called a linkblog. You might also find yourself writing about touristy stuff and local stuff, so those could easily be two blogs.