Recent Topics

1 Oct 30, 2005 16:05    

Hi I am rather new to b2. I've been playing around with it for awhile making test blogs, but am only now ready to launch my first live blog. There is one thing I would like to modify if I can, and that is...

When someone registers two new things appear to them. That being an “Edit” and “admin” buttons. Now if they click on ether they are taken to the “back office” page. Once there there are a set of tabs. If they click on any of them they are told “permission denied”, and that is good.

The problem is that for them to get out of there, they can ether use the browser “back” button or use “go to blogs”, which will take the to the “default” blog and not back to the one they came from.

What I really would like is that the “Edit” and “admin” buttons never appear until I manually upgrade there permissions. There doesn't seen to me that there is any reason for them to know that the “back office” even is there since they can't use it anyway.

If someone could tell me how to make it so these button don't switch on until I upgrade them to level 2 or add them to a bloggers group I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks

2 Oct 31, 2005 15:33

First, the Admin link: One quick way would be to take the user_admin_link() function out of your skins. But if you want it to be available to some users, then try this. Open /b2evocore/_functions_users.php and find this around line 450:

function user_admin_link( $before = '', $after = '', $page = 'b2edit.php', $link_text = '', $link_title = '#' )
{
        global $admin_url, $blog, $current_User;

if( ! is_logged_in() ) return false;
                if( $current_User->get('level') == 0 )
        { // If user is NOT active:
                return false;
        }

change the line that says

if( $current_User->get('level') == 0 )

to

if( $current_User->get('level') < 2 )

and only level 2 or higher will see the admin link.

3 Oct 31, 2005 15:38