Recent Topics

1 Sep 03, 2006 13:56    

If I upgrade from 9.2 to 1.8 will my settings and info stay the same or wiped out?

Also, will I have to reconfigure anything.

Obviously I am relatively new at this and don't want to negatively effect my blog users.

cheers

2 Sep 03, 2006 14:21

I upgraded from 9.2 to 1.8.1

It went smoother than I imagined and the only issues I had was to reconfig all the modifications and skin changes I had made from the standard install.
Took a couple of hours to rejig and some forum help on some of the changed file structure.

If your current 9.2 is bog standard, you shoud be fine.

4 Sep 23, 2006 07:58

I'm running b2evo v 0.9.0.12 and I'm scared to death about upgrading.

Can someone point me to some step-by-step instructions? I've been searching through old threads, but I'm not finding what I need.

Essentially, I'm afraid of the following:

1) That I'll lose all my posts. (Do I do a MYSQL backup or something?)

2) That my customized layouts won't work after the upgrade.

3) How do I know which upgrade to choose? 1.8.1 or 1.8.2?

5 Sep 23, 2006 08:20

sky captain wrote:

1) That I'll lose all my posts. (Do I do a MYSQL backup or something?)

Good idea! Files too, just in case you decide to go back to the version you're currently running. In fact, you should do a backup monthly or after a few posts just because.

sky captain wrote:

2) That my customized layouts won't work after the upgrade.

They won't! Everything under the hood is radically different, including how a skin turns a database into a web page. Check the "docs" link above to get to the wiki manual then look for upgrading your skin, or, consider one of the canned skins as a fresh starting point for the next generation of your blog.

sky captain wrote:

3) How do I know which upgrade to choose? 1.8.1 or 1.8.2?