Recent Topics

1 Jan 17, 2016 13:02    

So sorry, if I am doing something wrong and it has been answered. I tried searching and could not find an answer in the manuals or the forums.

My problem is on a brand new install. (using ehost.com hosting and their one click install) The version installed is 6.6.6-stable released on 11/17/15.... the site is located here: http://www.ssbn656.com

When I make a new post it will make a link like this on the front page http://ssbn656.com/news/ and it appears clickable but clicking it brings up a 404 page. I am thinking this has something to do with what ever slugs are but I am very new to this and I am still learning about this scripts set. Do I have something set wrong in settings? Or am I making posts wrong?

Any help would be appreciated.
Thank You
Have a great day
Jim

2 Jan 18, 2016 06:05

I think I fixed it....

The issue was new posts on the HOME blog, and Categories in the right hand list of HOME where throwing up a 404 when clicked.

I renamed the sample.htaccess file to .htaccess and it works now. I'm not sure what it did but those links now produce the proper page.

An interesting side note, when I renamed that file I can no longer see it in my server home directory. I guess they hide those files on ehost.com hosting.

Hopefully this post will help someone else experiencing a similar issue.

Have a great day
Jim

3 Jan 18, 2016 06:08

Just curious.... why are some posts marked "Community" and others are marked "Public" In a support forum wouldn't you want all posts to be public to help folks find fixes fast?

-Jim

4 Jan 18, 2016 17:31

Hi @nemo656,

Welcome to the forums.

Just curious.... why are some posts marked "Community" and others are marked "Public" In a support forum wouldn't you want all posts to be public to help folks find fixes fast?

Two main reasons:

1. Spam control.