Recent Topics

1 Feb 17, 2007 19:43    

My b2evolution Version: 1.9.x

Hello.

I am trying to install b2evolution but something is going wrong.
As I am a newbie, and to avoid a long message, please have a look at
http://m-v-p.net/journal/
and you will see what I mean.
Can someone tell me what all this means and how to get things right ?

edit:
"Notice: Only variable references should be returned by reference in /X/inc/MODEL/dataobjects/_dataobjectcache.class.php on line 121. --blueyed

Greetings,

3 Feb 18, 2007 00:57

He is using PHP 4.4.1.

That is just a notice that can be rectified by either removing the ampersand before the new like this:

$t = & new Object();

becomes

$t = new Object();

Or turning off E_NOTICE.

error_reporting(E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE);

4 Feb 18, 2007 01:31

smpdawg wrote:

He is using PHP 4.4.1.

How do you know?

smpdawg wrote:

That is just a notice that can be rectified by either removing the ampersand before the new like this:

$t = & new Object();

becomes

$t = new Object();

Or turning off E_NOTICE.

error_reporting(E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE);

Hmm, I've thought that it is already being used without the ampersand (and an explicit ampersand would be needed to work around this PHP bug). This is the relevant code from blogs/inc/MODEL/dataobjects/_dataobjectcache.class.php (in the v-1-9 branch). Line 121 is the "return" line.

function & new_obj( $row = NULL )
        {
                $objtype = $this->objtype;

// Instantiate a custom object
                $obj = new $objtype( $row ); // COPY !!

return $obj;
        }

5 Feb 18, 2007 01:50

I looked at the response headers from his server with the developers tool in Firefox. Information/View response headers.

I changed this in my code to get rid of the message.

function new_obj( $row = NULL )

6 Feb 18, 2007 02:00

Plus it's pretty easy to guess that a new installation might have a folder that should be deleted, then point to phpinfo.php in the deletable folder.