Recent Topics

1 Jun 15, 2007 21:37    

I am new to b3evolution. Mine is a new installation on a private, internal server (i.e., not available on the web).

I can’t make the Tag Cloud plugin display on my blog page. I think that I’ve followed the installation process correctly, but I’m obviously missing something. My environment:

Apache 2.x on Windows Vista
PHP 5.2.0
MySql 5.0.27

b2Evolution 1.10.2
TagCloud 2.02
Skin nifty_red

I installed the plugin and activated it. I left the settings at their default values. I added the call_by_code() snippet to skins/nifty_red/_main.php, just above the call_by_code() for the calendar. I added the css code to skins/nifty_red/rsc/stylesheet.css.

Each of my posts has one or more categories assigned. (The posts themselves display as expected.)

When I view the blog page, the tag cloud does not appear.

To verify that I am working with the right files, I added a div class=”evo_tagcloud” to _main.php just before the call to call_by_code(). The text in that div appears with the expected formatting from the css.

I tried repeating the process with a different skin (miami_blue) with the same results.

I have added a couple of other plugins successfully, so I am confident that - in general - the installation is working correctly.

Any ideas as to what I should look at next?

2 Jun 19, 2007 19:04

Someone will correct me if I'm wrong, but I think the tagcloud needs incoming keyword searches in order to display anything. If your site is on a private, internal server, and nobody is coming to the site via search engine searches, then it will never have anything to display.

jj.

3 Jun 19, 2007 21:02

jibberjab wrote:

I think the tagcloud needs incoming keyword searches in order to display anything.

Hmmm... I thought that it used the category settings for each post as its source. I would expect an empty box instead of nothing at all.

bkg

4 Jul 08, 2007 01:00