Recent Topics

1 Jan 23, 2008 05:52    

I have been a business analyst, usability analyst, solution designer, database consultant, (lightweight) software developer, plus some, whose career stretches back to making my first solutions using something called Nutshell in 1985 on a computer with no HD. Lately I've become drawn to the OS "phenomenon" which suits my personal "belief system", plus I think the support and dependability and rapid fixes of a solid OS project are far superior to that of any commercial offerings. Only very recently finished my evaluation and installation of b2evolution, in my quest to find a title for administering and blogging on a new site I'm putting together.

Because I am brand-new to b2evo, and have barely been exposed to php, css and other technologies involved, I am writing this not only as a pro who has evaluated hundreds of software titles over the years and who is really familiar with what it takes to maintain and rev solutions and to manage a team and to write the end-user documentation, but in this case I also share things from a "n00b's" eyes. Here goes:

-- Installation: after getting around a couple of minor hurdles on my VPS (I mean hurdles with the server itself, having to do with php configs and whatnot), the process was *so* easy, smooth as butter, and amazingly friendly. (I installed version 2.3.) I was especially pleased to see the security check done for me on the System tab, since this was one area of major concern (having heard much about the hackability of php apps) and indeed I needed to make a couple of corrections to my config. The instructions were clear and with a little ssh/CLI support from my hosting providerI was up and running the same day.