Recent Topics

1 Jul 23, 2008 00:19    

I'm new to b2evo and setting up my first blog. I'm learning as I go. I was curious to hear from others as to which method works better captcha or turing test? Or is it just trade-offs? Personally the captcha is annoying to me. Some are case sensitive, some are not. Some are difficult to read.
Plus I read that captcha images have had the text extracted programatically at a rate above 90%.

(my criticisms apply to captcha in general, not just here)

2 Jul 23, 2008 00:53

EdB's Turing Test beats Captcha anyday.

3 Jul 23, 2008 16:18

Captchas are frequently very breakable, but it depends on if someone is targeting your "application and captcha". So like since b2evolution doesn't have a captcha by default, those who like to sell "spam b2evolution users" packages to low-lifes don't need to advertise "break their captcha for only 99.99 more". Also I think google's captchas are for some reason amazingly easy for people and amazingly hard for captcha-breakers to break. Not sure where I read that though.

I think Turing Test is quite nice - but hey I wrote it so of course I do. Having said that, it has some drawbacks. First, people know captcha so they either put up with it or don't bother commenting. If they don't bother you never hear from them. I've experienced situations where for some reason or other people couldn't figure out my TuringTest question - or just missed entirely that it was there. It will also block someone who knows your language and wants to comment on your blog but doesn't know your language well enough to pass your test unless your question is something like "type blue in the box".

To my way of thinking, the two advantages TuringTest has over captcha is (a) very easy on the server because you're not dynamically generating an image and (b) reasonably easy on the visitor because all they need is to see your text and be able to fill in a form field.