Recent Topics

1 Jul 30, 2008 21:17    

Hello
I am very new to this and am interested in adding some images to the header, sidebar and main body background. So I looked for some skins with images that I could replace with my own.
I uploaded the skin zip files to my skin folder, unzipped them, then went to b2 admin.

The skins were properly listed for choosing, so I set the blog to a new skin.
Then when I went to see it, I got "The default skin for this blog does not exist. It must be set in the blog properties or overriden in a stub file."
But it IS set in the b log properties.

What am I missing?

2 Jul 30, 2008 21:34

Well, a link to your blog would help. Without it I'll simply guess that your skins are for a different generation than your blog is. Like, 1.* skins for a 2.* installation (or the other way around).

3 Jul 30, 2008 21:59

Ah. the blog is at www.tennisvagabond/blog

4 Jul 30, 2008 22:02

The version is 1.10.2

Perhaps I need to figure out how to upgrade this

5 Jul 30, 2008 22:36

Actually the version I see is 2.4.2 so all you need to do is make sure your skins are for version 2.* - http://skins.b2evolution.net/ is the link, and don't go to the link for "1.x skins".

hmmm... make sure on your server that the path structure is "skins/yourskin/various_files.php". Oh plus "skins/various_files.php" and sometimes the files have the same name as each other. What I'm thinking is maybe unzipping on your server is the problem. I always unzip on my computer so I can make sure the skin's files are in one (and only one) folder, then upload the actual skin folder.

6 Jul 30, 2008 22:37

If your version is 1.10 you are probably trying to install an 2.x skin. They are not compatible. Upgrading to B2evolution v 2.4.2 is a good idea.

Good luck

7 Jul 30, 2008 22:40

Hi Ed

I just upgraded it to 2.4.2, as you saw. And now it can find the skins, as you predicted. Except I have 2 new problems: