Recent Topics

1 Apr 04, 2010 18:05    

I’m a newbie to this site. Hello to all.
I have a website which I run, but I know nothing at all about PHP or MYSQL my site was built for me by a guy who promised he would look after it for me, unfortunately He never kept his promise. I would like to be able to add a blog to my website but do not have a clue what all this chmod 777 and all the other things mean. So either I have to try to learn PHP and MYSQL at 69 years old (No Chance I've looked) or I get the offer on here from some nice person to set it up for me. Any offers? I can’t afford to pay either wish I could. My website is http://www.royal-signals.org.uk

2 Apr 04, 2010 18:55

Been a fair few decades since I last saw the RCS emblem!

Adding a blog to your site is fairly easy, grab the zip from the downloads section ( I advise 2.4.7 ) and then upload the /blogs/ directory to your webspace.

In your control panel for your web click "mysql database wizard" and create a new database and user. Once you've done that hit yourdomain.tld/blogs/install/ and fill in the database and user details from the account that you just created and hit go.

¥

3 Apr 05, 2010 09:19

Many thanks for your reply.
I did exactly as you suggested, and after royal-signals.org.uk/blogs/install then enter I got the following error
Warning: require_once(locales/_locale.funcs.php) [function.require-once]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/bpskdk/public_html/blogs/conf/_locales.php on line 90

Fatal error: require_once() [function.require]: Failed opening required 'locales/_locale.funcs.php' (include_path='.:/usr/lib/php:/usr/local/lib/php') in /home/bpskdk/public_html/blogs/conf/_locales.php on line 90

That does not mean anything to me at all Help

4 Apr 05, 2010 17:38

Ok, it looks like you haven't uploaded all the files from /blogs/ or you got a corrupt zip in the first place.