Recent Topics

1 Feb 17, 2005 04:00    

yes, I have to annoy you guys with newbie questions, but I am seriously clueless. I've searched the forum for help, but I'm still not understanding this...
Where do I stick my blogroll and blogsnob code? I tried to stick stuff under

<!-- =================================== START OF SIDEBAR =================================== -->
<div class="bSideBar">

but I guess I'm not doing this right.

also, I'm currently using the originalb2 skin. Is there any way I can show the the links in my linkblog on the first page? I'm not good at editing the templates, and I don't want to mess anything up.

2 Feb 17, 2005 14:56

Ok, don't be too intimidated by this - it's pretty easy once you have a system :D

I find that trawling through your _main.php file once you have put blogrolls, rings, button, bells and whistles into it - ultra confusing.

So here is a way to put 'stuff' in but still be able to find your way around.

Create a new file in notepad (or whatever you use - notepad is good though) and paste your blogroll/blogsnob code into it. Now name it - eg. blogroll.php

Now open _main.php and scroll down till you find this

<div id="menu">

<p><?php $Blog->disp( 'longdesc', 'htmlbody' ); ?></p>

<h4>categories:</h4>
<form action="<?php $Blog->disp( 'blogurl', 'raw' ) ?>" method="get">
<?php	require( dirname(__FILE__).'/_categories.php' ); ?>
<input type="submit" value="<?php echo T_('Get selection') ?>" />
</form>

<h4>search:</h4>

<form name="searchform" method=

Now we are going to put your blogroll/snob between categories and search - but you can put it somewhere else once you get the hang of it.

Just above

<h4>Search</h4>

place this bit of code

<h4>Blogroll and other bloginess</h4>
<?php	require( dirname(__FILE__).'/blogroll.php' ); ?>

This should place all of the code in the blogroll.php into your sidebar - then when you want to edit the blogroll/snob code you edit blogroll.php.