Recent Topics

1 Dec 24, 2004 07:26    

EDIT:

For the sake of everyone looking for this hack, I will put a link in this post.
[url=http://www.mikemontalvo.com/index.php?blog=6&title=enclosures_for_b2evolution&more=1&c=1&tb=1&pb=1]b2e Enclosure Hack[/url]

6/30/05: Update- details [url=http://www.mikemontalvo.com/index.php?blog=6&title=enclosures_for_b2evolution_update&more=1&c=1&tb=1&pb=1]here[/url]

Now back to your regularly scheduled post.
/edit

Hey guys,
I'm pretty new to b2evo (a day to be exact), but I've whipped up a hack that adds enclosures to the RSS 2 feed if you put a url to an MP3 in the
"Link to URL" field when creating a post. I did it this way for ease of making it work.

Just wanted to see what the 'normal' way of adding enclosures. I'm coming from Blogger which didn't support enclosures. Does the feed generator usually just scan the whole post and 'enclose' any mp3 links? I guess what I'm asking is how other blog software does it and/or how would you like to see it work?

Thanks,
-Mike

3 Dec 28, 2004 00:24

Mike,

I have a quick questions about the code you showed me.. if ya dont mind

i checked your site, and the enclosure is also appearing in your post, with size, etc.. Are you inputting that seperately or is that a result of your hack, ie, its getting picked up via the edited rss file, and automagically through whatever file is responsible for the post content?

Thanks btw, for the quick reply to my pm :)

4 Dec 28, 2004 01:13

No, the links at the end of the post to the actual mp3 file, I manually type in (with the size and length)

The only thing the hack does is take the "Link to URL" address you typed in when you created the post, and insert the enclosure tag for it into the RSS output, if it's an MP3 file. It does nothing with the posts.

5 Dec 28, 2004 23:31

could you give me an example of the exact format of the mp3 file name as you type it in. I'm getting errors when I upload and try to post.

7 Dec 29, 2004 00:23