Recent Topics

1 Feb 06, 2007 23:58    

I looked at a lof of b2evolution skins and it looks like most of them use fixed widths. On wide monitors this leaves much of the screen unused. Is there an easy way to modify the nifty_corners skin so that the main blog column expands to fill any remaining space so that the whole screen is used? This would leave the other column (the one with the calendar) having the same width that it has now. Keep in mind that I have never used b2evolution before and have barely ever used style sheets.. Be gentle

2 Feb 07, 2007 13:12

Basically you'll have to learn CSS to make a skin do what you want. Actually, start using the software and look at the skin's _main.php file and associated CSS file when thinking about specific aspects you want to customize. As you look through _main.php you'll be able to see that a particular block of code makes a particular piece of the page, and you'll see where styles are called out for each specific bit of the block. So then you open the stylesheet and find what each particular bit is defined as.

I like http://www.w3.org/TR/REC-CSS2/propidx.html when I need to look up how a particular css thing works or what I can do with it.

In that particular skin you'd be interested in the overall width of the page. "<div class="wrapper">" owns that, so looking for "wrapper" in the stylesheet shows me it says "width: 105ex;". Next you would notice that the main body is defined by "<div class="posts">" and that "posts" gets "width: 75ex;" in the stylesheet. Finally the sidebar comes from "<div class="bSideBar">" which has "width: 75ex;" in the stylesheet.