Recent Topics

1 Mar 15, 2007 15:21    

My friends,
Hi! As Im a newbie in this sys, I had a theory in order to handle posts with different langs... and I want u to help me confirm (or at least, a propper guidance to the right path!) Mostly, this is to list the "blog #1" posts on just one lang, and make the searchs "on just one lang" (but the concept could be applied to "different types of contents in one lang that u dont want to mix") Yet, all with one login (mostly, to comment stuff on the diff site)

I think that the best way to to handle a single database of users of a comunity in different langs would be to install diff b2e (one per lang), exept that each lang installation should share the users database, thru modif <htsrv/login.php>, and guiding it to a the "central" installation. This way, my guess is that there should be ONE users database, yet would be different sites sharing those users (it could be diff langs or diff sites, the basic idea is to "share" the users)

Am I wrong in my theory? Should I need "more" modifs to get it work? (I guess I should deal with the "cookies" thing... a common cookie login for all of those... oh boy, where I gonna end... ;-) ) Thanks in advance! :D

PS1: Yep, I know, theres a plugin that *kinda* helps with this thing of displaying contents in diff langs (PoliglotX), but I guess it does a diff thing (plus the fact that list to be just compatible to the 1.6-alpha version)
PS2: Be kind... I use b2evo since... monday? (I cant learn it the whole deal in just a day... but its fun to try to do it ;-) )

2 Mar 15, 2007 15:42

Instead of installing multiple b2evos in multiple databases and then trying to hack a shared login, what you might like to do is install multiple evos in the same database ( by changing the $tableprefix in conf/_basic_config.php ) and then setting the following tables in each install to use the same prefix ( in /conf/_advanced.php ), which *should* result in a shared login/blacklist/stats system