Recent Topics

1 Mar 24, 2007 09:29    

My b2evolution Version: Not Entered

how do you get rid of the 'search' and 'misc' etc boxed in the right column?

:)

3 Mar 24, 2007 10:23

yup, thanks, now i searched the forums from the link you sent, and found this... (written to someone else)
"Ok, I can walk you through the changes. First, open up /skins/[the skin you're using]/_main.php in a text editor. You'll probably need to download it with your ftp client first. Once you've made your changes, save it and upload it back to the server. Skim through the _main.php file and you should see lots of comments. Those are the lines that begin with "//". Read the comments and they'll tell you what each bit of code does. Find the sidebar section, then find the bits in that section that you want to remove and delete them."

i don't actually understand what to do, because i've never done this before. but i'm willing to try and learn. i also sent the info to my friend who's helping me. where do i find to open up the first thing he writes? the 'skins'? i know what skins are, but when i click on the skins folder i just get the selection of what skin i want, not anything about changing it...
anyone care to break the above info down into baby steps for me?

5 Mar 24, 2007 10:33

You've done well allready: you found the good texts in the help files and the forum.

On your host B2e has installed files. You want to edit these files.
The skins are stored in a folder: ../blogs/skins/. In this folder you find subdirs. For each skin a subdit. Pick the subdit for the skin you are using. If you use the skin 'custom' you goto the subdir 'custom'.

In this subdit you find a file called _ main.php. Open this file (dowload it and open it with an editor like notepad) and read the comments till you hit search and misc.

7 Mar 24, 2007 11:11