Recent Topics

1 Dec 06, 2007 07:28    

My b2evolution Version: 2.20.x

I am new to blogging and am just beginning to learn my way around with PHP. I recently dowloaded b2evolution 2.20 Vegas again, and got it running just fine and linked to it from my home page . The home link on the blog points to the blog page. Where would I go to edit that link so that it would point to my website homepage, and also add other links external to the blog?

Thanks

2 Dec 06, 2007 08:31

Multipart question - cool!

To have your blog (assuming it is in a folder, like domain.com/blogs) point to a level above it is not impossible. First understand that b2evolution deals with itself very nicely, which is why it is very comfortable pointing to blogs that are part of the installation. Pointing to a level above itself is not currently something it knows how to do, but you can trick it.

Oh and you are using a beta product. PLEASE, no matter what, always upgrade your beta even if the next release sounds scary.

Anyway something I would consider and try, and I am new to 2.2.0 - like everyone else - is a "Free HTML" widget that I locate either above or below the bloglist widget. I might also consider and try creating a "blog" with a specified URL that happens to be one level up and include it in the public blog list so that people had a path up.

If I was using a beta version of an open source multi-lingual multi-user multi-blog application I would also post about which method I found good and bad, and why. So others could also benefit. And so maybe the developers would be moved to add a new feature. But hey that's just what I would do if I was using a beta version of an open source multi-lingual multi-user multi-blog application :)

3 Dec 06, 2007 14:43

EdB wrote:

Multipart question - cool!