Recent Topics

1 Apr 01, 2008 16:38    

My b2evolution Version: 2.4.1

I have done some research on cpu issues (as I have had plenty in the past) - I have already upgraded to a VPS with dedicated RAM and my site is currently down while I contemplate upgrading to a 1G of RAM to keep it going long enough to get this under control. My site only gets about 1000-2000 page views a day according to Site Meter so this seems excessive to me.

What I found is the following suggestions and would like opinions about what works and what doesn't and how to accomplish this on 2.4.1 (most of the hacks are from earlier versions). I think a new 2.X CPU thread would be nice.

1) Optimizing the database - I have been running B2Evolution for about 4 years. I have never done this - Seems simple enough (once I get access to the databases) - How much of an impact can this have?

2) Lowering the amount of posts per page - Right now mine is set at 12 on the main page and at 8 for the rest of the blogs - will setting it lower actualy help CPU usage as much as it matters with bandwidth?

3) Autopruning, Hit log, etc - I really couldn't care less about the hit log as I care more about my Sitemeter, google ad, and blogad stats. Those are the stats that matter to me. Is there a simple way to simply turn off the hit log all together in 2.4.1? (most of the hacks suggested in the threads go to files that don't exist or to lines in the files that don't exist). How much can this help my CPU usage?