Recent Topics

1 Apr 05, 2008 20:31    

My b2evolution Version: 2.4.1

Hello all - new user.

I am new to b2e and would like to install it to my domain and work on the set up.

Once I get it all figured out, I would then like to move it to my root directory so it will take over my index.html file.

Is this possible? Or once I install it on my server, is the database already configured and can't move it without losing informaiton?

I imagine there has to be a way to work on the development of it and then easily move it to another directory?

Thank you.

Gordon
Wiesbaden, Germany

2 Apr 05, 2008 20:34

Hi Gordon,

Welcome to the forums.
What you want is perfectly possible. After moving the files all you have to do is change the $baseurl in /conf/_basic_config.php. If you take a look now you will see how easy that is.

Good luck

3 Apr 05, 2008 21:02

I will give it a try. I haven't run the Install progam on my server yet because I didnt want to be "trapped"...

I will install it now and then work on what you said.

Thank you. More questions to follow I'm sure!

5 Apr 05, 2008 21:11

So I just tried to run the Instal script - but when I click on it, I get:
OPEN or SAVE new file...

and it thinks that my PrintMaster program is the program that will open the index.php file. No option to OPEN WITH...or anything.

Seen that before?

6 Apr 05, 2008 21:12

"tilqicom" wrote:

i dont mean to be sarcastic..

Nothing sarcastic about that answer.

Thanks for the info :oops:

I guess I will go read!

7 Apr 05, 2008 21:14

gordo282 wrote:

So I just tried to run the Instal script - but when I click on it, I get:
OPEN or SAVE new file...

and it thinks that my PrintMaster program is the program that will open the index.php file. No option to OPEN WITH...or anything.

Seen that before?

You do need a server. If you want to install on your local machine, you want a local server like WAMP or XAMPP, see http://forums.b2evolution.net/viewtopic.php?t=13698.

Good luck