Recent Topics

1 Jun 16, 2008 17:25    

My b2evolution Version: Not Entered

Is there a tutorial for creating a skin from scratch, so that it's my own design according to proper b2evo crediting etiquette? I'm asking because I'm a professional designer by trade, and I would like to use my own designs for my clients. I've been designing websites for years and have never even credited myself on a page, so I would like to keep credits down to just a "blog software" and/or "b2evo team" at the bottom of the page. What is the proper starting point for creating my own design? Is there a basic starting template I can build from that is truly part of the b2evo dev kit and not copyrighted by any particular designer? Thanks!

3 Jun 17, 2008 02:16

Thank you! That's what I was looking for! :D

4 Jun 17, 2008 17:14

If I may, all b2evolution really asks for is a linkback to the software source. Most skins use an image for this, but back before the 2.* generation there were many images to choose from and more than a handful of skins that used simple text links. The fundamental bottom line (in my humble but insistent on a linkback) opinion is that somewhere in a reasonably visible way something is linked to http://b2evolution.net (and by the way I'm just a forum junkie - not a developer or somehow getting something from sites that link back to here). Not infrequently, "powered by b2evolution" was used. "powered by" or "b2evolution" or "b2evo-powered" or anything that conveys that simple message.

Being quite the bitch about not helping people who don't linkback, I both look with my eyes and view source if my eyes don't find it. I've seen "powered by b2evolution" turned into a link to the actual website you were on. Yeah... thanks :/ I've seen it in teeny tiny font size that almost matches the background color. Yeah... thanks :/