Recent Topics

1 Jul 10, 2008 19:09    

My b2evolution Version: 2.4.2 Modified Pixelgreen

The title says it all. Is a calendar a popular requirement for blog readers? They seem to be on most blog templates.

Personally, I rarely if ever look at, or use, the calendar if there is one on a blog. Does it also have some use that I am not aware of (sorry - complete newbie at blog stuff).

The reason i ask, is that I would like to get rid of the calendar on the blog I am designing and replace it with Google Adsense. I was thinking of using some space in the side bar for this, but it is a bit crammed if I want to have it above the fold or whatever it is called?

TIA

2 Jul 10, 2008 20:32

arjay wrote:

Personally, I rarely if ever look at, or use, the calendar if there is one on a blog. Does it also have some use that I am not aware of (sorry - complete newbie at blog stuff).

Me neither :D .... bugger,I think that makes me a newb :(

¥

3 Jul 10, 2008 21:53

Me neither :D .... bugger,I think that makes me a newb :(

¥

Hmm - 9 posts versus 3800 or something. Sounds like I am going to be a learner for ever then <g>

4 Jul 10, 2008 22:53

A calendar is great if your booking a ticket to ride but in a world of instant RSS, short time availability etc etc, I can hardly see a punter who reads you blog clicking the calendar as a way to get to what they want.

Features such as Search, Archives, Recent Post, Recent Comments etc come way before a calendar for visitors.

5 Jul 10, 2008 23:51

I never liked the calendars and always remove the widget. I can see that it would makes sense for a real personal or technical diary with long blog entries, but I think it's useless for the normal blog.

6 Jul 11, 2008 02:46

I think the calendar is one of the stupidest things ever thrown on a blog that for some reason keeps getting duplicated by everyone and their brother because (here it comes) everyone else has a calendar so a calendar must be cool to have.