Recent Topics

1 Feb 13, 2009 12:14    

My b2evolution Version: 2.x

Hi folks,

I'm new to b2evolution having had a major problem with wordpress and given up on it. I've been using wordpress for a little while and love the ease of posting with a short extract and a link to the full article. In b2 this seems to be called an "extended post".

I have tried to create an extended post but when I then view the site it shows the whole article. Can anyone tell me what I'm doing wrong or help coach me through it? I'd appreciate it very much.

Regards

Andy H
www.spiritconsulting.co.uk/blogb2

2 Feb 13, 2009 12:29

Howdy ahughes3. Welcome to the tiny little piece of the internet known as "here"!

So dig this: you type the portion you want on your multi-post pages (example being the link you shared in your question here), then click the !M button. That will put something like <--readmore--> in your post. Then you type up all the groovy details that only those smart enough to click through deserve to see.

There are other ways to accomplish similar goals, but if I read you right this will be like ... um ... something you really like to you.

3 Feb 13, 2009 12:43

Hi Ed,

Thanks for the reply, I kinda get what your saying and have tried it but it didn't work so I'm obviously doing it in the wrong way.

What I did first
I typed in the teaser text into the main post writing box and the clicked the !M button. Then hit enter a couple of times and pasted all of the text below it. When I viewed it, the teaser text was there, with a line saying Follow Up and the rest of the text was also there.

What I did second
I pasted all of the text into the main post writing box. Then I wrote the teaser text in the "Excerpt" box lower down. Posted it and again I saw the whole thing.

I know I'm doing something obviously wrong but I need the obvious pointing out to me. I'm readily preparing to kick myself in anticipation!

Cheers

Andy

4 Feb 13, 2009 12:50

Okay cool we're on to something.