Recent Topics

1 Jul 12, 2004 14:58    

I'm interested in the mailinglist hack: http://forums.b2evolution.net/viewtopic.php?t=378&highlight=mailinglist

Is it possible to make it work for B2evolution 0.9??
Unfortunatley I'm not a programmer so I don't know how to adjust it to work with B2evolution 0.9

:-)

3 Aug 28, 2004 07:10

Without hacking b2e, you could use phpList to do the job.

It's a third party mailing list manager that users can subscribe and unsubscribe to. It also manages bounces and failures.

The best feature (which I have yet to try - but need/want to) is an RSS parser. It will read an RSS file and send any new posts to your list. I don't know all the details on it's RSS feature, but you can find more here:

http://tincan.co.uk/?lid=453

Hope this helps.

4 Aug 30, 2004 21:39

Awesome man,

This is precisely what i'm looking for for my own site. Despite what many of the threads in here say about mailing lists being dead (to which i disagree) ;) this is still an important feature in a blogging engine since alot my my non-geek friends are quite happy with email and don't "get" (nor do they really want to at this point) RSS feeds.

I too am stoked about the RSS parser. That IMHO is all that person needs for this.

Thanks again for positing the link.

Brent.

5 Sep 04, 2004 20:14

I think it's the development cycle that's a little dead right now, certainly not the requests for email notification mailing lists. Hopefully they'll get more developers soon. I don't envy anyone working on the product right now but the number of requests for this feature meeting no you don't really want that feature, use this instead or join the development team responses doesn't make for a happy day for anyone.