Recent Topics

1 Dec 28, 2004 03:29    

Hi - I'm a newbie working through trial and error. I think I've got this worked out, but I'd like to double-check before I do something disastrous.

I've installed b2evo, meddled with templates etc to set it up as I want it. Now I'm getting ambitious and would like to make a second install on the same database. I know this means changing the table prefix for the second install.

I'm looking at conf/_advanced.php and seeing the following;

* database tables' names
* (change them if you want to have multiple b2's in a single database)
*/
$tableposts = 'evo_posts';
$tableusers = 'evo_users';
$tablesettings = 'evo_settings';
$tablecategories = 'evo_categories'; ... etc.

Now - my question is, is this section all I need to change before the second install, or are there other settings on other .php's that need changing also?

Thanks much for any help,

Panth.

2 Dec 28, 2004 03:42

That's it - change the table names and you're golden.

3 Dec 28, 2004 04:26

Brilliant!

Thanks! :D

4 Mar 09, 2006 21:03

I am flirting with the idea of doing a second install of B2Evolution for one of my sub blogs -

I have 4 main blogs, 3 of which are political in nature and all funnel to one main 'all blog' - The last is a reality television blog devoted mainly to American Idol. Usually my political friends don't care to read about the lastest song choice of Kellie Pickler, so I have edited the all blog to skip over certain categories.

The problem is twofold with one other minor irritation.

1) I have a comments sidebar which displays on my mainpage and I have yet to figure out a way to edit that so that it is not dominated with comments from people like "We love you Ace!" - (the AI threads that are not shown on the main page).

2) I would like to eventually possibly have multiple reality show blogs that funnel into an all blog similar to what I have going on my political side.