Recent Topics

1 Aug 12, 2005 18:57    

first of all im new to b2e blog and never work on a blog before...

if these questions already been answered somewhere then please reply with a link... it save me the trouble and time to search for it.

questions:

1. after i customize the template, how do i save the style i just made to my desktop? basically how do i export my custom style? so i can use it on my other blog in another server...

2. how do i edit a certain skin/style?

3. i've downloaded a skin. how do i add them in?

4. after i customize the template, how do i make it back to defualt?
like say if i messed up how do i make it back to normal?

2 Aug 12, 2005 19:14

To get your feet wet it's probably best to copy the directory /skins/custom/ to a new directory called /skins/WHATEVERNAME then you can edit the _main.php and styles.css files to mess with the content/styles.

By doing this you won't mess with your original skin that you're altering. To add your new skin to your site just upload your /skins/WHATEVERNAME directory to your site and it will automatically appear in your skin choices.

If the custom skin isn't what you want to start off with you can edit any of the skins by editing the _main.php file and the .css file in the skins' directory. But as I said, it might be wiser to make a copy of it under a different name and then you won't lose the original.

Hope that helps.

3 Aug 25, 2005 18:08

Okay - I'm fully aware that this is a panicked-newbie-I'm-so-overwhelmed-so-I'm-not-getting-it-question... but here it goes...

In doing all these copying and renaming stuff, are you supposed to be doing this through a FTP program? I don't see anywhere you can do it from inside the admin console... Thanks!

4 Aug 25, 2005 18:39

Yeah - FTP the finished product to your server space.