Recent Topics

1 Sep 04, 2005 22:22    

I know there is the reverse, the MT import plugin... but frankly guys, I am having so many issues with b2evolution, and the fact that it hasn't really evolved in over a year... that I want to give Movable Type a try, even paying $39, I figure I am actually saving money...

The effort and money I lost migrating from one server to another because b2evolution was wrecking havoc in the host server... and the time I spent trying to "customize" my blog unsuccessfully... at some point I said "I need to learn php"... but then I said, wait, I am a writer, why should I become a programmer?

So if anybody has an idea how to move from b2evo to MT I would love to hear how to do it.

The reasons why I want to give MT a go are identical to this ones here (from opensourcecms.com):

Note: I'm talking about an ancient version (more than a year old) here. New b2evo is probably much better. One user on our server had b2evo installed. It seemed that some db update queries randomly caused 98% load on mysql... Which, coupled with comment spam and the fact that b2evo development didn't seem too fast, was the cause to start moving that particular blog to WordPress. Initially I was thinking that "simple update of current script" was the way to go, but looking at the update instructions made me quickly change my mind. I mean, you have to apply about three rounds of logic changes & updates to TEMPLATES by hand? WTF?! This script has hackish feel to it. Also, check if you like the documentation. Some systems may have better stuff on that front, especially for beginners.

And also this comment reflects my experience with b2evo: