Recent Topics

1 Sep 20, 2005 20:52    

I'd like to create a default filter for the all blog, I'm quite sure this is a hack. I'm very new to b2 and php so any advice would be appreciated. I would like to do one of two things actually - either create a default category filter for the ALL blog, or baring that, change the display from being chronological in order to being category based. I know I could do something similar with a linkblog or other clever ideas but I am curious how I accomplish this.

2 Sep 20, 2005 21:05

Do you want to make the Blog All display only a single category? The thing is, in b2evolution, each category belongs to a blog, so if you just display one category, then you'll just have posts from one blog, and then you're not really using it as a blog all anymore. You might be thinking that you can have a category in Blog A called 'Computers' and a category in Blog B called 'Computers', but b2evo knows each of them by their cat ID #, so it has no idea that you want the two categories to be related. I guess you could hack that idea into it, but it would be a major hack.

3 Sep 20, 2005 21:14

Ok, what I am trying to do truly is make the most recent entries in one particular blog (preferably by category) allways show up first. I have one blog dedicated to news that I would like to allways be the first entries even if other blogs have had posts in the interim. I would like this to be category based, but I can adjust my use of that blog so tjat categories don't matter. While I'm a beginner at b2 and php I don't necessarily require someone to implement this for me. I'm fairly proficient with other web technologies and more useful might be highlighting for me the code the all blog uses to aggregate - It's a bit overwhelming trying to learn all the pieces of b2 while trying to learn php syntax. Due to my misunderstanding I thought it might be easier to hack it via category rather than by blog but I'm open to suggestions.