Recent Topics

1 Apr 04, 2006 20:49    

I have a general question about site security and b2evolution. I'm new to this stuff and I don't have a very advanced understanding of how it all works.
I found this thread, , on .htaccess files, and I understand the idea of the htaccess file well enough.
http://forums.b2evolution.net/viewtopic.php?t=3394&postdays=0&postorder=asc&highlight=security&&start=15
But I was looking through the Documentation on "File Permissions" and I noticed that it gives these suggestions:
http://b2evolution.net/man/2004/06/04/file_permissions

What files/subdirectories do need specific permissions?
Let's assume your b2evo is installed under /blogs. Here's what you need to change:
* chmod 666 /blogs/conf/_config.php if you want the installer to be able to automatically update your config based on your input.
* chmod 777 /blogs to allow creation of blog stub files from the admin interface or to generate static pages for your blogs.
* chmod 777 /blogs/media in order to upload images and other media from b2evo's backoffice.
* chmod 666 /blogs/skins/custom/* if you want to use the template editor for the custom skin.

Now, if I make /blogs and /blogs/media chmod -777 doesn't that mean that *ANYONE* who goes onto the site can write to that directory with the right code or is there something I'm not understanding?
Excuse my ignorance. :oops:

-bennybobw

2 Apr 05, 2006 01:23

Not anyone who goes to the site can write to it: a webbrowser cannot write files/directories (at least through normal HTTP).

BUT: the recommendations are wrong.. you should never make files like _config.php readable by "world". Because that means, that anyone, who is able to reach the file in another way than through the browser, can WRITE or READ it.

Often, the problem is just that PHP runs as user "nobody" and therefor could not access/read the file, if you would chmod it 660 or 600 for example (which is the recommended setting).