Recent Topics

1 Jan 05, 2007 14:37    

Hi,

I'm completely new to blogging. I've jumped right into multiple collaborative blogs from day one, but I'm only just starting to learn the basics - so please forgive me if my questions are naive, or if I'm asking in the wrong place.

[u]Question 1 - Privacy[/u]
Is there a way to set my blogs so that posts are always "restricted" rather than "public" - unless otherwise specified? Currently the default is "public", so I'm half-scared to use the blog in case i forget and accidentally tell the world something i wanted to post to myself.

[u]Question 2 - "Post to Blog" Button[/u]
Is there a way of putting this button on the blog page itself, but making it only visible to members with editing rights? So that my co-editors on shared blogs can post at the touch of a button, without having to go into the back-office and find their way to the "write" tab?

2 Jan 05, 2007 19:42

One answer: on your Blog settings->pick a blog->permissions tab click the "wide" link (might be "advanced") and don't give anyone permission to post published. Make sure you do both users and groups permissions.

Dunno about the second.

3 Jan 05, 2007 20:21

the 'write-tab' is the default tab...
so they don't need to find there way.. they just need to start typing...

4 Jan 07, 2007 02:56

EdB wrote:

One answer: on your Blog settings->pick a blog->permissions tab click the "wide" link (might be "advanced") and don't give anyone permission to post published. Make sure you do both users and groups permissions.

Dunno about the second.

Brilliant!!! I think that's done just what I needed. I hadn't noticed the advanced layout in the permissions before - thanks a billion for the tip.

5 Jan 07, 2007 03:08

Topanga wrote:

the 'write-tab' is the default tab...
so they don't need to find there way.. they just need to start typing...