Recent Topics

1 May 11, 2007 11:19    

My b2evolution Version: 1.9.x

If I want to move my B2evo blog (files, databases everything) to a completely new domain name, will this give me problems in any way ?
Permalinks ?
Anything ?

Any help appriciated ;-)

2 May 11, 2007 15:50

You will need to change the $baseurl value in your conf/_basic_config.php file. Also smilies you've used in past posts will have the old path (full URL) to the image file pointing to the old domain name. You will have to edit the posts through either phpmyadmin or your own back office once you move.

3 May 11, 2007 20:09

EdB,

Thanks for your hints.

You will have to edit the posts through either phpmyadmin or your own back office once you move.

I am not an expert on phpmyadmin, so I am not sure what to do there, so the editing in the backoffice sound like an easier sollution.

But what is it that I will have to edit ?

-and is it before or after the move, that I have to make the edit ?

4 May 12, 2007 00:33

i have a similar question, I want to move my blog to a new server, waiting for domain name DNS info to propagate. I'll eventually use the same domain, eventually.

Anyway, the wiki said to INSERT the table info into database, ditto. Then, run the install script. Do I choose NEW INSTALL?

I guess i'd have to re-install all the plugins again right?

Then, after the DNS info have propagated and it points to the new server, do I just change the base URL in conf/_basic_config.php?

Edit: forgot to mention, to the original poster, go into your web host control panel, mine use phpmyadmin, go into that. phpMyAdmin appears, click on the database on the left, then click export, click Select All to highlight all the tables in the select box, then choose compression type on the bottom (i'd go with gzipped or bzipped), then click OK (or Next, or whatever on the bottom right most button). That should give you a file download, save it somewhere.