Recent Topics

1 Jul 20, 2007 21:06    

My b2evolution Version: Not Entered

Hello,

I have tried to turn off the Admin link on each page by going to the permission section but when I put my page into the browser and click on the Admin link at the bottom right side of my blog it goes to the administration page and I don't want anyone but myself to be able to do this.

What can I do?

Thank you,

Debra Sanford
Are You Making Less Than 100% Commission? WHY????

2 Jul 21, 2007 00:09

I'm assuming you are talking about the admin link in your blog's skin. Open up your skin's _main.php file and look for

user_admin_link( '<li>', '</li>' );

replace with

// user_admin_link( '<li>', '</li>' );

:)

3 debsanford Jul 21, 2007 17:41

debsanford

B) Hi,

Thanks for the help I'm new at this blogging thing and forums too!

Debra
Are you working for less than 100% profit? WHY???

4 Jul 21, 2007 18:09

go to admin > users and edit the group permissions for each of the other user groups, choose either "no access" or "hidden" ;)

¥

5 debsanford Jul 21, 2007 20:47

debsanford

Hi,

Thanks a lot. I was wondering why there is an admin link there anyway for anyone to get into your administration panel. Do you know?

Debra Sanford
Are you working for less than 100% commission? WHY???

6 Jul 22, 2007 04:41

Because b2evolution is a multi-blog application, it's very common to have many authors, each with their own blog. (Some sites are even set up for visitors to open/create their own blogging accounts, on the fly. )

Having an admin link on public web-page provides a quick and secure (via user/password) access to the back office admin tools. (Levels and details of back-office access, can be set to be user/group-specific).

Mind you, in a single-author, single-blog situation ... having such access may seem superfluous. (We hide our back-office link because ... "why would any visitor need/want to see it, since they can't log in ... AND ... why invite tampering?)

Hope this helps.