Recent Topics

1 Aug 10, 2007 00:22    

My b2evolution Version: 1.10.x

Hi,
As fantastico does not have the latest version. I am trying for the first time to install from afresh. I have created an sql database. I have downloaded 1.10.2 and unzipped it. Uploaded just the blogs folder to my public_html and now have a folder called blogs.

I have gone to the install page and filled in my username, password and my SQL data base (gallery2) I left localhost and table prefix as it is. I am just getting an error installation.

This is my first attempt at manual install, can anyone suggest what i am doing wrong please :-/

2 Aug 10, 2007 01:07

And what would be the error? My prediction powers have declined lately.

3 Aug 10, 2007 01:27

MySQL error!

Error establishing a database connection!

(Access denied for user 'gordon'@'localhost' (using password: YES))

Sorry. As I have never used SQL to set up a data base but I think I have followed all the instructions as per the instructions

4 Aug 10, 2007 01:31

Well, in that case you have to be sure that the username/password with which you created the database are the same you're giving to the install script.

BTW, why do you nam your database "gallery2"? Just curious. Are you by any chance using the same database for Gallery2 and B2evolution?

5 Aug 10, 2007 02:44

Austriaco,
First thanks for helping me. I am now a bit confused.

The tuturial I used just said to give the data base a name.

I choose gallery2 because I have no other data base by that name and gallery is an easy name to remember.

The b2 upload is in a file named blogs (that was the only part of the download that I was told to upload) I could of course renamed it to b2 evolution.

Does the SQL data name have to be the name of the folder I have uploaded

6 Aug 10, 2007 02:48

No, I just thought you could be using the same database for different applications.