Recent Topics

1 Feb 01, 2008 13:57    

Blog by Email - Does it really work?

I'm a newbie with b2evolution and hope to get 'Blog by Email working' if possible. I installed and am running version b2evo v 2.4.0-rc2. It seems to have this feature built in [Global settings][Features]. Are there any other files that need modified?

I have read: http://manual.b2evolution.net/Email

When I Perform Server Test responce is:

Connecting to pop server...
Logging into pop server...
Getting message #1...
Processing...
Subject prefix does not match.
OK.

Fatal error: Call to undefined function: timer_stop() in /home/users/v0860518/public_html/stoptagging/blogs/cron/getmail.php on line 371

2 Feb 01, 2008 14:06

The subject prefix is described in the manual:
Wiki wrote:

Subject must start with [blog:], or any string you set in the config file

Do remember that your post may actually be sent and received, but not yet posted. This can occur if there is a timegap between you and the server. The post should be in the Backoffice/Dashboard. Do check the timestamp.

There was an error in the file. Can't remember, but I'll be able to find it.

Good luck

4 Feb 01, 2008 14:36

A long time ago I set up a b2evolution blog to "blog by email" for total strangers who happened to be able to guess a secret password type of thing. Initially I got confused by how to make it work, but once done it proved to be a great tool for that installation.

Haven't used it in quite some time though. Should check it out again and see what's new yah?

BTW didn't vote because no option for "used to after learning to set it up" ;)

5 Feb 02, 2008 07:18

Are the brackets required? [ ]

Subject must start with [blog:], or any string you set in the config file

6 Feb 02, 2008 07:20

I added that option to the voting poll. If I can get it to work I will make that vote. I may need your help though.
BTW didn't vote because no option for "used to after learning to set it up" ;)[/quote]

7 Feb 02, 2008 07:22