Recent Topics

1 Feb 01, 2008 18:27    

My b2evolution Version: Not Entered

Hi Guys
Im new to forum so Hello to all
Also im new to b2evo, I have just installed b2evo 2.4.0 Venetian.
As this is my 1st time setting up a blog struggled through the setup process of giving user default permission and so on.
My problem is when someone registers with a hotmail account they do not recieve the confirmation email to validate there account is there a work around for this.
Please dont forget im a newbie :)

2 Feb 01, 2008 18:35

Hi andyell,

Welcome to the forums.

Yesterday I wrote a Howto on this topic. You find it here [url=http://forums.b2evolution.net/viewtopic.php?t=14205][1.10.3] [2.4.0 rc2] HOWTO: use an external SMTP mailserver[/url].
Do have a look and find out what you can do on your own. If you get stuck, feel free to ask in this topic.

Good luck

3 Feb 04, 2008 12:48

Hi Afwas
Thank you for you quick reply.
I tried the method desribed in your post but I still get no email sent to @hotmail address and now after a user registers b2evo does not return to screen telling them a validation email has been sent.
I couldnt find a folder called "_misc" but found the files in question in "inc/core" was I correct with this choice also I have set folder permissions to 755 on "lib".
Your further help would be very appreciated.

Quick note:
my server has sendmail on and as far as I know its working

4 Feb 04, 2008 13:03

Hi andyell,

This looks like a problem from the server that sends the mail. Can yu try to set this up with some very other mailserver like yahoo! or Gmail?
It looks like the SMTP blocks the mail probably due to spam measures. Can you send regular mails to @hotmail users?

andyell wrote:

now after a user registers b2evo does not return to screen telling them a validation email has been sent.

When did this happen? Is it only with hotmail users?

Good luck

5 Feb 04, 2008 13:17