Recent Topics

1 Mar 27, 2008 22:02    

My b2evolution Version: Not Entered

Hi,

first of all I have to say, that I'm an absolutely evo beginner.
My task is to set up blogs for three teams. Most of the posts will be relevant for all three teams and should be accessable for all of them. But some posts should be only visible for the teammembers of each team.

How could this be done?

Thanks
b2fan

2 Mar 27, 2008 22:17

Hi b2fan. So ... uh ... we can thank you for keeping b2evo so cool? Fan - get it? Fans cool things off? okay never mind.

So this sounds simple. 3 blogs, probably 4 and maybe more, but let's start with 3. Blogs 1 and 2 and 3 are for each team, with each team member being a "member" of those blogs. They can all post in them of course, and most importantly: they understand what "protected" post means. So they post stuff in their blog. The entire universe, or at least the part hooked up to the internet, can see all three blogs and all posts that are "published" in all three blogs. ONLY "members of the blog" can see posts that are "protected", and since only team members are members of the blog you've established that bit of control with the greatest of ease.

Now ... you might want a fourth blog to use as an aggregator blog for the first three and to use as your installation's default blog. No one posts in it but it gets all posts from the 3 blogs you aggregate into it. Including the protected ones, but still only "members of the blog" will be able to see them.

Then ... you might want a fifth and sixth and seventh blog to use as linkblogs for the 3 team blogs. And maybe an eighth for the aggregator blog. Or maybe just one blog to use as a linkblog for the three blogs and the fourth aggregator blog. Or maybe any combination of whatever you can envision.

Pretty slick yah?

3 Mar 28, 2008 11:59

Thanks EdB!