Recent Topics

1 May 13, 2009 16:54    

My b2evolution Version: 2.x

I am trying to update the swedish language file from ver 1.10.x to ver 2.4.x. I have used POedit to do the translation ( following the instructions in "Updating Language Files") and have got a new messages.po and a file called messages.mo. Nothing seems to happen when transfer the .po file to b2evo. None of my translations are appearing. What to do with the .mo file? Do I need to do anything with the _global.php file? I am new to b2evo, as you probably can understand from the questions and would appreciate any help.

Mats

2 May 13, 2009 17:05

Hi Krave1,

I know nothing about language packs I'm afraid ( pretty sure you have to generate /locales/your_local/_global.php somehow ... buggered if I know how though.

I'll move this to the localisation forum for you ;)

¥

3 May 13, 2009 17:06

Hi krave1. Welcome to the forums ... and thanks for translating!

So here is the thing: PoEdit is only a step in the process that lets you make the translation conveniently. Unfortunately, b2evolution requires the global.php file in the appropriate path in order to translate. To the best of my knowledge there is no easy way to do that. Actually I think if you're super-geeky and all over Linux and command line stuff then it is probably 'easy', but that is a tiny minority out there eh?

Or, wait a minute. Perhaps http://manual.b2evolution.net/Localization helps? Last time I even thought about translations it was a nightmare to figure out how to make a global.php file but perhaps things are easier now?

Oh and let's hope some of the folk who are good at dealing with creating localizations come along :)

4 May 17, 2009 16:21

krave1 wrote:

My b2evolution Version: 2.x

[...] None of my translations are appearing. What to do with the .mo file? Do I need to do anything with the _global.php file? I am new to b2evo, as you probably can understand from the questions and would appreciate any help.

Mats

Suggestion ;) :