Recent Topics

1 Jul 12, 2009 20:35    

My b2evolution Version: 2.x

Hi all,

I'm new to b2evo, so apologies if this is a simple question.

I've created a blog for my family to keep in touch. I would like the posts to be readable only by the members of the blog (my family) so I have set the default post visibility to protected. However, it seems that e-mail notifications are not sent for protected posts (even to members).

If I allow published posts then e-mail notifications are sent, but the posts are visible to anyone who visits the site.

Is there a way that I can turn on e-mail notification for protected posts?

If not, is there another way that I can: a) restrict the posts so that they are readable only by members and b) have e-mail notification for new posts.

Thanks for your help!

2 Jul 14, 2009 19:02

I noticed that 29 people have viewed my original post, but haven't had a response which means that either:
a) there isn't an easy answer, or
b) my question was too basic to acknowledge.
I'm hoping for a)!

I really want e-mail notification for new posts. So, if I can't get e-mail notification for protected posts and have to use published posts, is there a way that I can make published posts readable only by members? For example, can I password protect the entire site in some way?

Many thanks in advance!

3 Jul 14, 2009 19:46

Something that may or may not work is our "protect your blog" plugin. You'd be able to make posts "published" ( they'll automatically be changed to "protected" ) and ... with a smidge of luck, the notifications will be sent out ... I'd have to look through the core files to see if the point where we change published to protected is before or after notifications are issued.

Anyway, if you want to try it then you can download it here : @link [url=http://waffleson.co.uk/2007/10/credits]credits page[/url], just click the tacky green icon next to the plugin to download it ;)

¥

4 Jul 15, 2009 06:06

Thanks for the suggestion, ¥åßßå.