Recent Topics

1 Jun 03, 2010 01:33    

My b2evolution Version: 2.x

Hello,
I am new to b2 and am not quite sure that I understand how the multi blogs work, and I am even more confused on exactly what a stub file is. I installed the program and successfully added an outside blog to it, but it appears to me that I just created a link to the outside blog.

My hope for this program is to be able to tie in other people's blogs (from whereever, Blogspot, Wordpress, etc) so that their data/posts will appear on my blog, as they post them.

Can this be done?

Also, if I have to just use the links going to their respective blogs, is there a way of passing on a sidebar link, footer or header link to return to my site?

Thanks so much for your help!
Jeanne

2 Jun 03, 2010 03:16

My hope for this program is to be able to tie in other people's blogs (from whereever, Blogspot, Wordpress, etc) so that their data/posts will appear on my blog, as they post them.

It sounds like you're hoping b2Evolution can be used as a content scraping tool. Can't see as how those "other people" would be nuts about the idea. :-/

3 Jun 03, 2010 03:25

ScrapbookSupplies wrote:

My b2evolution Version: 2.x
Hello,
I am new to b2 and am not quite sure that I understand how the multi blogs work, and I am even more confused on exactly what a stub file is.

Multi blogs are almost independent, they provide a wide range of settings you can seperately customize for each blog.
A stub file is a file that you gonna need if you want to make advanced changes to how a particular blog works.

ScrapbookSupplies wrote:

Can this be done?

Yes this can be easily done via RSS, using sam2kb's feed importer (makes posts with their posts) or if you simply want to display/render them and you dont need to repost; you can use am_rss_reader plugin.

ScrapbookSupplies wrote: