Recent Topics

1 May 11, 2006 23:42    

I've never seen b2evolution before, but I have a friend for whom somebody else set up a b2evolution site.

He got spammed and I logged in to find out what to do about it.

The first thing I wanted to do was make all new posts default to having comments 'closed' instead of 'open'. I didn't find a way to do this, so I decided to see what the code looked like.

In b2edit.php and edit_actions.php, I found four(!!!!) separate lines that looked like this:
param( 'post_comments', 'string', 'open' );

First of all, that should say "closed" instead of 'open'. Yes, I realize I'm a newbie user (non-user, really) showing up in somebody else's forums, with an attitude, expressing a contrary opinion. But seriously, everybody knows that the best security comes from allowing nothing until you've identified all the things you want to allow. We're not looking for the "best" security here, but SPAM is an enormous problem, so we could at least do better than choosing "open" as a default here.

And since that line is so beautifully and cleanly hard-coded, I concluded that there is no mechanism by which I can change the configuration and make the default be 'closed'. So I edited four(!!!!) lines that looked just like that, and they now look like this:
param( 'post_comments', 'string', 'closed' );

But wouldn't it be nice if the param() function, perhaps, called another function named something like "configuration()", which could take a configuration item name and return the default, as specified in the configuration? Then you wouldn't have to distribute your defaults all over the place in hard-code, and you could instead do something (roughly) like:

function param($paramname='', $reset=false) {
  if (empty($paramname)) { error("Bad coder! Bad coder!"); }
  if ($reset) {
    $mysettings_or_whatever[$paramname] = fetch_config($paramname);
  }
}