Recent Topics

1 Jun 14, 2006 16:13    

Hi All,

I'm planning a blogging/community website and I've been looking into possible solutions. Based on what I've read on the main page and in the forums, B2evolution is looking like a winner to me so far, but I'm confused as to exactly what it can do. Please note, I am not a programmer at all. I'll be hiring someone to do the actual coding if I need any changes.

Is b2evolution capable of doing the following?

PROJECT DESCRIPTION:
The site will be a collection of blogs by different authors. Similar to xanga or livejournal, where each author gets their own personal blog and only they can post on it.

The site will be divided into the following pages:

Main Page - A collection of the 10 newest posts across all blogs, no matter the post category.

Category Pages - A collection of the newest posts across all blogs, but just on the particular category (i.e. DOGS).

Author Pages - The personal blog of the author, with only posts by them. It must also be possible to sort the posts based on category within the authors posts. For example, all the posts on DOGS (category), only by FRED (author).

Forum/Comments - Every time a new post is created on a blog, a corresponding topic is created on the site forum.

Can b2evolution do this with at most, minor edits?

I appreciate all your help!!!

2 Jun 14, 2006 17:25

Hello, welcome. For the most part, b2evolution will do what you need. A couple of those things will take a little work. Here's a run-down:

1. Main page - Yes, this feature is built in. Blog 1 is the aggregator blog, which shows posts from all blogs, authors and categories.

2. Category pages - This is not built in. The software has no sense of categories that span multiple blogs. Categories are considered to be contained within blogs. I'm sure you could hire a programmer to add this feature, but it's not built in.