Recent Topics

1 May 23, 2007 19:29    

My b2evolution Version: 1.9.x

Is there any way to get a countdown timer into a blog post? I administer a b2evo blog and would like to do this. Every solution I've seen offered online seems more geared to plain web pages rather than php. I'm not really a coder, but more of a "copy and paster", so I'm at a bit of a loss on this one. Thanks in advance.

2 May 25, 2007 15:02

Do you want it to be a) constantly running, like a stopwatch, or b) should the number only change when you reload the page? a) requires your readers to have javascript enabled, but it looks cooler. b) is simpler to do and will always work. There's not a way to do this in b2evolution right now, but I think a plugin could add this functionality.

3 May 25, 2007 16:30

Thanks for the reply. Well, it shouldn't really matter as I really just want to countdown days not hours and minutes. I simply want to say "x days left before the big event" at the bottom of the blog post. (Maybe white text over a colored rectangular box, but nothing fancy.) I wish I knew how to write plugins! :-)

4 May 25, 2007 16:43

Ok, cool. I'll try to make a little plugin that does this. We'll start with just a plain date and maybe add an option to use javascript in version 2.

5 May 25, 2007 17:56

Wow--that was fast! Sounds great!! I know others would like minutes and seconds, but for this particular need I have, # of days make more sense.

Since it's going to be embedded in a blog post, it would be nice if it looked a little flashy so it had that "dynamic" look to it (as opposed to it saying it was going to be x # of days away at the time of the post and then that # remaining static or static-looking.) I know this seems counter-intuitive to what a blog post usually is, but it would be helpful in this situation. Thanks again!

6 May 25, 2007 18:09