Recent Topics

1 Jul 13, 2008 09:19    

My b2evolution Version: 2.4.2

Sorry if this question is a bit naive, or has already been asked somewhere. I have searched here and Google but maybe not asking the right question?

I am a newbie who is about to upload my first blog as part of a new website. I have posted a couple of things as a test and see an icon next to each post whereby anyone (or anything?) that accesses the blog can send an email to every poster. Is this not a potential problem re spam or whatever?

I have installed the captcha plugin that offers some protection against bots on the comments side, but it does not cover the situation regarding replying to a poster. Can bots or other automated software detect and respond to email icons like this - or am I way off beam here?

RJ

2 Jul 13, 2008 16:31

Well it is not an email link so it's not as ugly as an email link, meaning bots can not harvest an email address from it. It links to a form that has some native antispam measures and can be enhanced with plugins. Also each link goes to an author - not every poster, which is slightly different from "that accesses the blog can send an email to every poster".

Technically speaking, a bot can be written to handle every situation. EVERY situation including captcha-protected interaction. Well, not every situation because I honestly believe my TuringTest is bot-proof. So to your question of can bots respond: probably but I don't think any bot-authors have bothered to write a bot specifically focused on b2evolution's form field names. By the way I am probably completely wrong because for them there is money in it - but most don't focus on details like they should.

By the way I'm fairly certain two things can address this without a plugin. First your bloggers can turn off the 'contact me' feature. If that is not the case for the email icon associated with each post, then for sure you can edit the skin you're using to not have that particular bit in it.