Recent Topics

1 Dec 26, 2005 21:04    

First of all,

Thank you for this excellent job, and I hope I am posting in the right place. I spent about 2 hours getting a MySQL database set up to receive data from B2's setup script and the blog itself. I consider this my worry, not yours.

I FTP'd the whole mess to the server, ran the script and within 15 minutes was writing my first post! Magnifique!

I have been programming for webservers and databases for the last ten years, and in my experience when someone says, "just run the script and you're ready!" it generally yields about the same results as "One size fits all! in how women's panty-hose look. But your install really worked, thank you :!:

I am playing catch-up in that my ten years has been 99% ASP on Micro$not servers. PHP is new to me and while I fancy myself a "quick study" something as complicated as the works of a blog will take some time.

I am using Ver. 1.6.
My default skin is a "tweaked" version of SmoothCurrency. (as I do know CSS, it was one place I could begin toying with things.)

One thing the post editor does not have, as far as I can discover, is the ability to add color. While not one to want to clutter up the text with wild displays of color, I have become accustomed to using three levels of emphasis on my blog.
Level one: plain text
Level two: Bold text
Level three: Bold text in an alternate color.

In time, hopefully I can contribute a bit more than this but...
In keeping with a bit of "Pay it forward", let me share how I got this going on [url=http://fredsitelive.com/blogs]My Site[/url] and then ask a question.

In the main CSS file, SmoothCurrency.css, I made an entry like this:

p strong em {
font-family: georgia, verdana, sans-serif;
font-size:12px;
color:#800000;
line-height:18px;
text-align:justify;
}

And it works like a charm! Now "strong" and "em" work just as before. If I want text that is bold and italicized I click EM immediately followed by STRONG.