Recent Topics

1 Jun 30, 2006 09:23    

Hey guys i'm extremely new to how a blog works and php, and i don't really know how to search what i'm looking for.

I'm looking for a way to display a summary(title &thumbnail) of the last post from each catagory in a sidebar on the main page of my site (seperate from my blog page but still the same site.)

Anyone know how i need to search for this?

Or better yet how to do it?

I'm using v1.6

Thanks

2 Jul 01, 2006 19:22

Should i post this under "Hacks & Plugins" ????

3 Jul 01, 2006 20:35

In general it'd be a lot easier to have b2evolution make your main page even if nothing from the blog goes there. This is because in order to get content out of the blog portion you'll need to initialize the blog, so if you're going to do that you might as well let it do it's thing.

You can, in your blog settings, say that the default blog is blog #2, then make your index.php file be bits and pieces of the blog (sidebar stuff eh?) but the actual content could be your existing main page.

As to making only one post from each category show up: that'd be a hack that I don't think has been done but shouldn't be too hard. Depending on the version you go with of course. 0.9.2 is a lot easier to get hackage for because it's been out for a while and lots of people know how to hack it very well. The thumbnail thing is something that b2evo doesn't do, but - again with some hackage - it can be done. You would have to make the thumbnails, but then getting those integrated with your post titles won't be hard.